Tuesday, May 05, 2015

Versioning in Sharepoint

What happens with versions when restored in an list?

If this is the starting position:
image

Version 4.1 is the latest minor version that also is published. When we restore version 3.0 what happens is this:
image

Version 3.0 is copied as version 4.2 and is now the current version.
If we change our mind and decide that wasn’t a good one, we can restore previous version 4.1 to get back our starting position.

Results may vary depending on if minor/major versons enabled.

If we want to compare versions when working with documents, we do this from within word itself under Info>Manage versions